剑桥数学故事有限公司  版权所有 ©2018-2019  保留所有权利            

数学故事写作比赛 - 胜出的家长、学生、图书馆和学校将获得超过USD$2000+的现金奖

Cantab教授宣布数学故事竞赛。
Cantab教授宣布比赛

为庆祝剑数说™发布了为学习数学而设的流动应用程式,我们很高兴在此公布,我们将举行我们首次的故事写作比赛。

 

剑桥数学故事有限公司是由一群在幼儿教育、数学、科学和尖端科技方面拥有丰富专业知识的剑桥大学校友和教授们共同创立的。我们的目标是制作能为幼儿将数学具象化的教学软体,并进一步引导他们在成长和学习的过程中理解和爱上各种形式的数学。

我们的研究显示如果学习时融合了深受喜爱的民间故事、传统的儿童故事,又或现实生活中的故事或情境,那小朋友便能更容易的学习数学。另外如果家长和小朋友一起努力与老师探讨数学知识,学习一样可以是有趣的。有见及此,我们现诚邀家长/(外)祖父母、学前和小学学生、在家学习的儿童、数学老师们以及儿童图书馆馆员*,一同参与我们剑数说™首次的写作比赛2019/2020。

*如果你的小朋友是在家学习或尚未上学校,请找你区内的图书馆馆员与你一起签署声明,详情请参阅下面的递交方法。 总奖金将会由胜出的家长/学生与家长/小朋友当地区内的图书馆共同分享,以支持地区内图书馆的工作。
 

奖项

 

胜出的学校或儿童图书馆和家长/学生将会获得大奖USD$1,000的现金奖。 当中USD$500将会颁发予胜出的学校或儿童图书馆,而另外的USD$500则会颁发予胜出的家长和学生/在家学习的儿童。

 

胜出获得大奖的故事将会制作成免费的流动应用程式给大众下载和玩。 (胜出者需先签署同意书)

此外还设有2名二等奖的奖项。每一位获二等奖的赢家将会获得USD$400。 当中USD$200将会颁发予胜出的学校/图书馆,而另外的USD$200则会颁发予胜出的家长和学生/在家学习的儿童。

 

此外还设有3名三等奖的奖项。每一位获三等奖的赢家将会获得USD$100。 当中USD$50将会颁发予胜出的学校/图书馆,而另外的USD$50则会颁发予胜出的家长和学生/在家学习的儿童/学生。

 

除此以外,首3位奖项得主还会获得一神秘礼物。

每一学年(由学龄前至第5年级/5th grade)每10个名额的最后70名决赛入围者,将会免费获得我们的《林地系列1》流动应用程式,另加一件线下产品。这些奖项会同时给予入围决赛的学校/图书馆和家长/学生们或在家学习的儿童。

金將會电汇至学校、图书馆和家长的银行支票账户。

参赛须知

这比赛是公开予所有由学龄前至5th grade的学生和在家学习的儿童。我们也欢迎已注册成剑数说™会员的家长、老师和图书馆馆员参与此比赛。

请点击这里注册成会员,这是完全免费的喔! (为保护儿童的私隐,家长和/或教师/图书馆馆员只需要提供最低限度的资料。)

参加此比赛无须购买任何本公司产品。一经参赛,即代表获奖的家长/监护人和获奖学校/图书馆同意授予剑数说(及其赞助商,如适用)有权利用获奖学校/图书馆的名称和获奖家长的姓名作宣传结果之用。在个别州份法律禁止的情况下,参赛作品将会无效。

 

写作指引

内容:邀请家长和学生一起写故事。内容可以是根据他们的真实生活经历,传统民间故事或儿童故事写成。

须最少融合2个数学游戏在每一个故事中。

请参阅这里内含数学游戏的故事范本,又或下载我们的流动应用程式去了解多些剑数说。 (剑数说有免费和收费的流动应用程式给你选择喔!)

 

每一个故事需要附上如以下的家长指引。此给予家长的指引必须写在每一个游戏的结尾,以帮助他们去加强故事中的课题。 请用以下的标题:

1. 这游戏帮助你的小朋友学习以下技巧:(例子 - 加数、减数)

2. 讲解时:(那相关的数学课题)

3. 更多帮助的方法:(说明更多相关的应用例子)

 

参赛者同时需要写一或两句去解释故事的由来。例如:「我两星期前去了故事中的地方」或「这故事是我自己想出来的。」完成故事后,作品需要由学生的数学老师检阅,确认故事中应用到的数学是正确的。

 

长度

最长2页。字体大小不能小于10。

 

递交方法

作品需要是MS Word文件。递交前,家长需要在上面签名。文件必须附有以下的声明:「这故事完全是由(家长的全名)和我在(学校名称,及请附上学校的电邮地址)就读的小朋友写成的。这故事适合(某学年程度)的读者/用家。」

 

为确保小朋友的私隐/隐私,我们只会查问家长的全名,以及小孩就读学校/区内儿童图书馆的名称和其联络方式。如果你有多于一个小朋友参与比赛,你需要在文件中指出参赛者们各自的学年程度。

 

完成检阅过后,小孩的数学老师或当地区的儿童图书馆馆员必须于声明下面附上他/她的签名。 请在我们的网址参阅签名页的范本。

故事必须经我们www.camathories.com会员专区的网址,在网上递交给我们。

 

评审

我们每一位顾问和剑数说的行政总裁会负责评审故事。最出色及学年程度恰当的故事会从参赛作品中选出来。

 

评审准则

1. 数学内容有多好:数学内容的质素。

2. 故事有多好:故事的创意性

3. 游戏与故事是否合得来:在故事中恰当的数学应用。

 

评审们的决定是最终的。剑桥数学故事有限公司拥有唯一及自行决定和选出胜出者的权利。

 

重要的日子

递交日期由2019年9月6日开始。

截止日期为2020年3月31日美国东岸时间11:59pm。

最后最后入围和得奖者结果公布日期为2020年7月31日美国东岸时间。

 

我们期望你会参与是此比赛,与小朋友、家长/(外)祖父母、学校的数学老师/儿童图书馆馆员们一起学习数学,并赢取我们精彩的大奖!

 

附加说明:

一经参赛,即代表参赛者不可撤销地同意,他/她将遵守并由剑桥数学故事有限公司(以下简称「剑数说」)自行决定建立的比赛规则,即使剑数说可能会不时对这些规则予以修订。剑数说的决定是最终的,不容任何争议或复审。参赛者将授予剑数说以下不可撤销的权利及许可:唯一和独家的酌情权(a)利用参赛者提供的图像/照片;和(b)以剑数说自行决定的形式复制,修改,分发和/或发布参赛者的故事。获奖者(们)需提供税务识别资讯,以便向有关当局报告此类奖项。获奖者(们)需自行承担一切与奖项有关的税款和支出。现金奖励会按获奖者提供的指示,通过银行电汇或Paypal支付给获奖者(们)。剑数对任何误投或错递的现金奖励结果概不负责,也不会采取任何行动来确认获胜者提供的信息的准确性。

  • Facebook
  • YouTube

剑数说图书奖 2019/2020

剑数说™欣喜地宣布,于2019/2020学年度,捐赠了500美元的图书奖予剑桥大学丘吉尔学院。本图书奖将颁发给一至两名在英国剑桥大学的丘吉尔学院学习数学的学生。

丘吉尔学院非单注重科学和技术的研习,同时也提供多元化的学术科目。它提供世界级的教学和学术支援,并藉由为学生提供支持性环境,帮助学生充分发挥潜能。丘吉尔学院接受来自世界各地的最有能力和最高成就的学生。

丘吉尔学院由古至今的院士中,共有32位诺贝尔奖得主。仅举几例,丘吉尔学院创办人温斯顿∙ 丘吉尔爵士(Sir Winston Churchill,1953年文学奖得主);约翰∙ 科克罗夫特爵士,丘吉尔学院的第一位院长(Sir John Cockcroft,1951年物理学奖得主),1961年担任丘吉尔学院院士至今的安东尼∙ 希威士博士(Dr. Antony Hewish,1974年物理学奖得主),自1979年至2013年担任丘吉尔学院院士的罗伯特∙ 爱德华兹爵士(Sir Robert Edwards,2010年生理学/医学奖得主); 约翰∙ 古登爵士,自1973年至1995年担任丘吉尔学院院士,2007年至今担任荣誉院士(Sir John Gurdon,2012年生理学/医学奖得主)。要了解更多有关丘吉尔学院及其诺贝尔奖得主的资讯,请点击此处

 

剑数说™致力于帮助养成我们的下一代热爱和理解数学,进而能探索和提升我们的数学知识。剑数说™衷心祝愿「剑数说™图书奖2019/2020」的得主能受益于此奖项,令他们的数学研习有所助益。

copyright © 2018-2019 Cambridge Mathstories Inc. All rights reserved.

Math Story Writing Competition - 

Over USD$2,000+ Cash Prizes to Winning Parents, Students, Libraries, and Schools

Professor Cantab announces the math story competition.
Announcement of the Competition by Professor Cantab

We are delighted to announce our first Writing Competition to celebrate the launching of CAMathories™ apps for mathematics learning.
 

CAMathories™ was founded by a team of Cambridge University faculty members and alumni who have expertise in early childhood education, mathematics, science, and advanced technologies. Our aim is to create a brand new educational experience of mathematics for young children, to help them to love
and understand mathematics in all its forms.

 

Our research shows that children can learn mathematics more easily if it is integrated with a well-loved folk story, a traditional children’s story or a real-life story or situation. Learning can also be fun if parents and children work together to explore mathematical knowledge with their. We are therefore inviting
parents/grandparents, pre-school and primary school students, home-schoolers, mathematics teachers as well as children librarians*, to take part in our first CAMathories™ Writing Competition 2019/2020.

 

*If your child is home-schooled or has not yet started school, please get your local librarian to sign off the declaration together with you, see Submission below. The total cash prize will be split between the parents/students and the parent/child's local library in order to support local libraries.

Prizes

The winning school or children library and parent/children will receive the Grand Prize of  USD$1,000  as a cash prize. USD$500 will be awarded to the school or the children library and USD$500 will be awarded to the parent and student/homeschooler.

 

The Grand Prize winning story will be made into a free app for the public to download and play.  (A signed agreement with the winner will be required).

 

There will be two Second Prizes. Each Second Prize winner will receive USD$400. USD$200 will be awarded to the school/library, and USD$200 will be awarded to the parent and the student/homeschooler. 

There will be three Third Prizes. Each Third Prize winner will receive USD100. USD50 will be awarded to the school/library and USD50 will be awarded to the parents and the students/homeschooler.

There will also be a surprise gift for the first three Prize winners.
The 70 finalists, 10 from each grade (pre-K through 5th grade), will get our free "Woodland Series 1" bundle app, plus an offline product. The awards will be made to both the finalist schools/libraries and the parent/students or homeschoolers.

Cash prizes will be wired to the schools’, libraries and the parents bank checking accounts.


Entry Requirement
Entry is open to all grades from pre-K through 5th-grade students, homeschoolers, and parents, teachers and librarians who have registered as CAMathories™ members are welcome to take part in the competition.
Please click here to register as a member. It is totally free of charge! (Only minimal information from the parents and/or teachers/librarians is required to protect children’s privacy.)

No purchase is required to enter the competition. By entry, the winning parents/guardians and the winning schools/libraries grant to Cambridge Mathstories Inc. (and its sponsors, where applicable) the right to utilize the names of the winning schools/libraries and of the winning parents in publicizing the results. The entry to the competition will void where prohibited by individual state law.


Writing guidelines
Content: Parents and students are invited to write a story together, either one based on their real life experience, or one based on a traditional folk or children’s story.

At least 2 mathematics games must be integrated into each story.
Please find a sample of a story script with mathematics games here, or download our apps to learn more about CAMathories™. (CAMathories™ have free and paid apps for you to choose!).

 

Each game must include the following Notes for Parents. The guidance notes for parents must be written at the end of each game to help them to reinforce the lessons of the story. Please use the following headings:
1. This game helps your child to learn about: (e.g. - addition, subtraction)
2. Talk about: (the mathematical lesson)
3. More ways to help: (show further applications)


The contestants also need to write one or two sentences to explain the origins of the story, for example, ‘I went to the places in the story two weeks ago’ or ‘I thought of this story myself.’ After finishing the story, the writing needs to be reviewed by the mathematics teacher of the student to check that the
mathematics applied in the story is correct.


Length
Maximum 2 pages. Fonts cannot be smaller than size 10.

Submission
The writing needs to be in an MS Word document. The parents need to add their signatures before submitting their entry. The document should include the following declaration: "This story was written solely by (the first and last name of the parent) and my child who attends (the name of the school, and provide school's email address). This story is appropriate for (specify grade level)”
 

In order to protect the privacy of children, we only ask for the full name of the parents, and the name and contact of the school/the local children library which the child attends/uses. If you have more than one child participating in the competition, you will need to indicate the grade level of the contestants in the document.

After reviewing the work,  the mathematics teacher or the local children librarian of the student/homeschooler should add his/her signature underneath the declaration. Please see the sample signature page on our website. 
The story should then be submitted to us online through our members’ website at www.camathories.com.

 

Judges
Each of our advisors and the CEO of Cambridge Mathstories Inc. will be responsible for judging the writing. The best stories which are grade appropriate will be selected.


Judging criteria
1. How good is the mathematics: the quality of the mathematics content.
2. How good is the story: the creativity of the story.
3. How well the games fit into the story: the appropriate application of mathematics to the story.


The judges’ decision is final. Winners will be selected by Cambridge Mathstories Inc. in its sole and exclusive discretion.


Important Dates

Submission: starts from Sept 6, 2019

The deadline for submission: March 31, 2020 11:59pm U.S. EST

The announcement of finalists and winners: July 31, 2020 U.S. EST

We hope you can take part in the competition and learn mathematics together with the children, parents/grandparents, the school mathematics teachers

/children librarian. And also win our amazing prizes!

Further notes:

By its application to the competition, the contestant irrevocably agrees that he/she shall abide by and is subject to the rules of the competition established by Cambridge Mathstories, Inc. (“Cambridge Mathstories”), as may be amended from time to time in its sole discretion. Decisions by Cambridge Mathstories are final and not subject to dispute or review. The contestant grants the irrevocable right and license to Cambridge Mathstories to: (a) utilize image/photograph that the contestant provides, and (b) to reproduce, modify, distribute and/or publish the contestant’s story in such form as determined by Cambridge Mathstories in its sole and exclusive discretion. Winning contestant(s) are required to provide tax identification information for the purpose of reporting such award(s) to applicable authorities. Winning contestant(s) are solely responsible for all taxes and fees incurred relating to any cash award. Cash awards shall be paid to winning contestants made via bank wire or Paypal with instructions provided by the winning contestant(s). Cambridge Mathstories is not responsible for any misdirected or misdelivered cash awards and will not take any steps to confirm the accuracy of information provided by winning contestant(s).  

  • Facebook
  • YouTube

CAMathories™ Book Prize 2019/2020

CAMathories™ is delighted to announce that a Book Prize of USD$500 has been donated to Churchill College at the University of Cambridge for the academic year 2019/2020. This Book Prize will be presented to one to two students admitting to Churchill College to study mathematics at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. 

 

Churchill College has a great emphasis on the study of science and technology, yet it also offers diverse academic disciplines. It provides world-class teaching and academic support and helps its students to fully develop their potential by providing them a supportive environment. Churchill College admits the ablest and the most highest-achieving students from all over the world.

 

Churchill College counts 32 Nobel Prize winners amongst its past and present Fellowship. To name a few, Sir Winston Churchill, the Founder of Churchill College (winner in Literature 1953);  Sir John Cockcroft, the first Master of Churchill College (winner in Physics 1951), Dr. Antony Hewish, Fellow of Churchill College since 1961 (winner in Physics 1974), Sir Robert Edwards, Fellow of Churchill College since 1979 through 2013 (winner in Physiology/Medicine in 2010); Sir John Gurdon, Fellow of Churchill College since 1973 through 1995, Honorary Fellow since 2007 through present (winner in Physiology/Medicine 2012). To learn more about Churchill College and their Nobel Prize winners, please click here

 

CAMathories™ is committed to helping our next generation to grow to love and understand mathematics, and to explore and advance our knowledge of mathematics. CAMathories™ sincerely wishes the recipients of CAMathories™ Book Prize 2019/2020 will benefit from the Prize and find it useful for their study of mathematics.